The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe

Hey everyone. If you didn’t already know The Raven is a poem.  I personally didn’t particularly like this poem. I was a little disappointed that I didn’t like it mainly because I’d heard so many good things about Poe and his work. I think the only reason I disliked it so much is because it reminded me too much of that Hitchcock film Birds and the fact that the Raven keeps repeating the word, “Nevermore.” To be honest I found that quite creepy.

If you like creepy poems about birds then this one is for you. If you like other works by Poe then you might like that television series called The Following which was about a serial killer who becomes a leader of a cult obsessed with Poe and his works.

Feel free to recommend me work by Poe that I might find interesting,

S.

Works mentioned:

Hitchcock, A. (1963) Birds.

Poe, E. A. (2005) The Raven in Ferguson, M., Salter, M.J., Stallworthy, J. (5th edn). The Norton Anthology of Poetry. New York: W.W Norton & Company. Pp.977-980.

Williamson, K. (2013-2015) The Following. Fox Broadcasting. (In the UK was broadcasted on Sky).

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe

    • sunnyk12 says:

      Thank you for taking out the time to comment :). I think that’s why most people do like him because his work is so creepy. I’m willing to give his work another chance just along as they don’t contain birds doing creepy things. Any recommendations?

      • Haha! All of it is pretty morbid and creepy! Annabel Lee is my favourite poem. I love The Black Cat, but that has a very creepy cat. Tell-tale Heart is a classic and I also love The Masque of the Red Death… I love it all its hard to recommend!

Leave a Reply

